SPF: A reminder


16 J Hardy Carroll 29 October 2017© J Hardy Carroll

I can’t really tell you why it’s there. I suppose I just wanted something to remind me of the child I once had. Back in the days when my little boy decided to torment his younger sister by mutilating her dolls. He dropped off the heads and scattered them around.

I think all of the neighbours heard her scream when she discovered it.

Stepping into the role of parent I rushed to console her. Their evidence of the mutilation was completely removed and I found replacements for those dolls.

As for him, well, not much you could effectively say to him about that. Naturally, he was told that this was the wrong thing to do and he was grounded for a month. All of his phone, Internet, and game privileges were removed for that time.

At the time, we thought it was quite a harsh punishment. Looking back, maybe the whole thing was not punishment enough because in later years the mutilation moved on from dolls to real people.

This is the reason people think my shelf is kind of macabre acceptance of his crimes. It is just a reminder I did something right. At least my child was diverse.

Written for Sunday photo fiction

One thought on “SPF: A reminder

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)