FFfAW: Escape


This week’s photo prompt is provided by Louise with The Storyteller’s Abode. Thank you Louise!

I could see it. My freedom lay at the top of those steps, out of that door of the outer walls. There was no way I was destined to be a serving girl. My father sold me into the life of servitude just so he could get my meagre wages. He was in for a surprise at the end of the month, when he would receive a big fat nothing.

My palms were sweaty as I surveyed the open courtyard. One last obstacle to overcome. It was now or never, so I pushed myself away from the wall and ran as fast as I could from the castle.

Who knows where my newfound freedom was going to take me. I hadn’t decided anything yet.

Written for flash fiction for aspiring writers

12 thoughts on “FFfAW: Escape

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)