Hello everybody and welcome to another Writing Wednesday. The idea of this is I am going to write about whatever subject has inspired me this week.

Everybody is welcome to join in, of course, and you can do that by either writing something in the comments or giving me a pingback to your work. (It goes without saying that you should feel free to share your work if you get the urge to do so!)

What am I going to use as my inspiration this week?

The word… Dragon.

Waking the Dragon

I was sitting in my bedroom playing with all of my toys when I first noticed the scratching sound. I looked everywhere for the source of the noise before my attention turned to a wooden model of a Dragon. Being completely obsessed with the mythological creature, my bedroom was full of them but this small piece of wood was definitely the source of the scratching sound I was listening to.

Frowning, I reached out to touch the thing expecting to feel the smoothness of the wood. Instead, however, I could feel heat and I swear there was even the hint of scales underneath my fingertips. I snapped my hand back in alarm.

An abrupt giggle sounded from behind me where my older brother had entered the room without me noticing him. “You should have seen your face.”

“I heard scratching coming from this Dragon and it’s starting to feel all strange… Not quite like wood.”

“I was scratching on the door frame to see what you would do. I don’t know, sis, who do you think you are? The mother of Dragons?”

I bristled in anger. “I do not think I am the character of a novel. I am just saying that… You know what? Never mind.”

“You are nothing but a deluded child!” He gave another laugh before he left the room.

Tentatively, I reached out to touch the Dragon again. This time, somewhere in my head came the voice plain as day. “You are more like her than you think.”

That was the point that I totally freaked out and ran from the room.

(I wrote a piece of flash fiction about it Dragon and this is another story that came into my head! You can read the original piece here)

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

