Hello everybody and welcome to another Writing Wednesday. The idea of this is I am going to write about whatever subject has inspired me this week.

Everybody is welcome to join in, of course, and you can do that by either writing something in the comments or giving me a pingback to your work. (It goes without saying that you should feel free to share your work if you get the urge to do so!)

What am I going to use as my inspiration this week?

The word… Silence.

Quiet

It isn’t true you know. Silence is not always golden but sometimes, just sometimes, it can be very unwelcome. I mean, it is certainly not uncommon to want that time to yourself to just think about everything that is happening. There are times, though, that the last thing you need is to be alone with your thoughts.

When you are surrounded by nothing and nobody the voice inside your head can be very difficult to drown out. In fact, it can sometimes be impossible.

Anxiety is a terrible thing. It means you definitely need to talk to other people so that you can’t hear your own inner dialogue but going outside and talking to people is actually the last thing you want to do.

In my line of work, as the schools counsellor, this was a bigger problem than you can imagine. The amount of people telling me about that voice within had led to me developing my own. I was now battling with myself about my own worth. Was I really doing good here? Did people actually care what happened when they saw me? Were they making things up just so they could get the treatment? Who was I to see to their problems when I couldn’t deal with my own? What was I even doing here?

I don’t think I have ever been so glad for the familiar buzz of my secretary informing me that another appointment had arrived. There was going to be respite for at least an hour.

9 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday – 8 February 2017

  1. Wonderful meditation on silence, anxiety, and how we fill the void.
    I long for silence. From the annoying noises of neighbours. From the voices of my characters chatting in my head. From the negative voices that repeat all my failures, pointing out that I am not good enough. Silence. So that I can hear the small still voice that perhaps is me.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: touched (haibun)

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

