Society for Supper

Rather than a post-apocalyptic book, this one is actually set during the apocalypse. There has been a mass drought that has sparked off wildfires that are killing both crops and wildlife. As a result, the stocks of food are running very low.

Society has started to unhinge as people become desperate for food, and this book demonstrates the lengths that people will go to in order to get themselves food.

The book is set around Ben Donnelly who is trying to save his family from the effects of famine and society going mad. You literally feel like a part of the family as you follow this story through all the ups and downs.

The author of this book has made the writing very direct and descriptive. You literally feel like a member of the family watching everything through their eyes. Everything is a constant surprise as the story leads you through various twists and turns.

I would definitely recommend this book to anybody interested in anything apocalyptic or post-apocalyptic. This is an entirely different story from the usual course of some kind of disease that creates zombies spreading all over the world. This is a real fight for survival that keeps you wanting more. I found it a definite page turner.

This book has received five out of five stars from me because it is very well written and a unique idea. Saying that though, it is also a believable one.

4 thoughts on “Book review: Society for supper – TYCobbsTeeth

  1. After reading your review I went to the Amazon site and found the teaser “Breakfast is Severed.” Read that and posted a review scheduled for 24 January on my blog, then reblogged this review to appear on my blog 24 January a few minutes later. Based on your review, I will read this book.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I just found this review and loved it. I appreciate the positive feedback. Thank you so much. I have a new book written under my own name, What Lies Within. Trying to line up a publisher now. There is also a revision of Society for Supper in the works. I’m giving the book some heavy editing and adding a chapter at the end. I will release it under my own name this time. If you’re interested in reading any more of my work, I have two short stories recently published: “PB&J” is published in the anthology, Beast-A New Begining. And “A Twisted Tail” is published in the anthology 100 Voices, volume 2. Thanks again!

    Like

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

