Writing Wednesday


So, I thought I would start a new feature on my blog. It is going to be called writing Wednesday and there’s where I am going to write anything that I am inspired to do so on that particular day.

Everybody is welcome to join in, of course, and you can do that by either writing something in the comments or giving me a pingback to your work. (It goes without saying that you should feel free to share your work if you get the urge to do so!)

What am I going to use as my inspiration this week?

The word… Dead

There are no rules regarding limit of words, but try to keep it below 500 to keep people’s interest 🙂

My story…

Dead

I had never seen a dead body before the one that I stumbled upon came as a complete shock. Not just because of the pasty whiteness, the chill of the skin, or even the eyes staring outwards framed in horror. It was none of these things although they were not exactly pleasant.

The one thing that rooted me to the floor and ensured that I kept staring at the body was that it was mine. The simple fact that I did not know anything about my own death was unnerving, to say the least.

How was I here? I was not sure that it was possible to see your own body in such a way. Did that mean I was a ghost? My hand was shaking as I reached out to touch the wall. My hand did not penetrate the cold bricks and so I was sure that I was still alive.

The sound of footsteps made me turn around. My gaze met my husband’s and I frowned slightly because I thought he was away. I glanced behind me and noticed that my body had disappeared so I just put it down to my imagination.

That was until I turned back to find myself staring down the barrel of a gun.

As the shot rang out I was in no doubt that my eyes were framed with the horror I had seen moments before.

2 thoughts on “Writing Wednesday

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

