FFfAW: The pantry


Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

This week’s photo prompt is provided by Maria with the blog, Doodles and Scribbles. Thank you Maria!

 

When my brother had rung me up to inform me that my mother was being placed into a home because she was becoming a danger to herself I did not actually believe it.

It was true that I had not seen her for some time because I had been busy with my own family. That sounds incredibly selfish, but my son had been very ill which prevented me from going to visit a place that was further away than I wanted to be. Just in case.

However, I agreed to help clear out the house because it was going to be put up for sale in order to pay for the care home. When it came to clearing out the pantry I looked at the familiar food and felt a pang of regret for not coming to see mother. Mind you, when I began to pay attention to the food I realise that the dates were long past.

Maybe she was a danger to herself, after all, I thought to myself with a sigh.

Written for flash fiction for aspiring writers

27 thoughts on “FFfAW: The pantry

  1. Interesting take on the prompt, and a great insight — it’s so hard to see and admit that someone can’t take care of themselves anymore, both for them and for their loved ones. On the other hand, before I start casting aspersions about expired containers in the pantry, I’d better go check mine… oops…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Not an easy situation to be in…most parents would choose caring for their ill child over visiting their own mothers and “regret” it later. Maybe I’m reading a tone in here that you don’t mean but…I get the feeling there was already an emotional distance between this mother and daughter.
    Ellespeth

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think your piece here is true to life. I know with my Baba for instance, she stopped cooking and only ate meals bought from the store — TV dinners. But when she stopped doing that, stopped eating some fruit, and making her coffee, and became very ill due to an infection, it was time to sell her house and move her to a seniors residence where she got some care. She’s at home in the residence now and it’s good she moved there when she did. They feed her and she also sees more people there so she isn’t so isolated. It’s a sad but true part of life. Nice write πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It’s hard to accept that our parents have grown old and are unable to care for themselves any more. It’s even more difficult when we’ve moved some distance away from our old homes, and don’t see them as often as we like. Sadness – and a degree of guilt – hits us when a parent must go into a nursing home because they can no longer care for themselves. But it’s generally for the best, and safer for the elderly than being left alone. Thought-provoking story, Angie.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

