Dear knee


A writing prompt appeared from nowhere today, but it completely intrigued me. I love the idea of this so I thought I would give it a go.

The prompt is, write a letter to a part of your body.

Here is my attempt:

– –

Dear knee,

It has recently come to my attention that you are not behaving in the way that you should. In order for you to continue in your position as a part of my body there are certain things that I will need you to do.

I don’t think I am asking too much because I am simply expecting you to do the job that you have been designed for. Your ideas of acting creatively has been considerably unhelpful over the past few weeks. I only expect you to do what it set in the ground rules of normality. This does not include trying to bend in the wrong direction, all convince the entire leg to follow in your lead.

Admittedly, I do not know what the consequences will be for you but that is a decision that is to be made by doctors. The idea of surgical intervention is as unwelcome to me as it probably is to yourself. In this case, please save everybody the hassle and start cooperating with everything else.

I am hopeful that this letter will spark the beginning of a whole new relationship. Please be aware that I will not hesitate in having you removed if your behaviour persists. Consider this a warning.

Let’s hope it is your first and only.

Regards,

Angela Trafford

2 thoughts on “Dear knee

  1. “continue in your position” So no hopes for a career upgrade and a threat of redundancy!
    Do you talk to all your body parts like that?

    This looks like a fun writing prompt. Could you tell me where I could submit an attempt?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It was a daily writing prompt that I received by email. At the bottom of the email it says WritingPrompts is brought to you by Scribendi.com and Inklyo.com . Visit them today!
      But I have no idea whether you can submit anything there! However, I am a great talker of my body like it is a business that just isn’t working! Have fun if you have a go 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

