SPF: Not for girls


172-09-september-11th-2016

One of the older teachers at the school, Mrs. Cox, stormed into the staffroom with her hands on her hips.

The secretary looked up from the sandwich she had been about to eat. “Whatever is the matter?”

“I found something completely inappropriate being played with by a child. However, the headmaster believes I am being silly in thinking that I should report the child’s mother.”

“Well, if it really is inappropriate then it should be dealt with accordingly.”

“At last, somebody who appreciates my opinion.”

Diane straightened her glasses and snapped shut her sandwich tin. “I don’t understand. The headmaster is normally very fair about this kind of thing. What did he say to you exactly?”

“He told me I was being completely unreasonable, and there was nothing inappropriate about the toy.”

“What was the toy?”

“I confiscated it. Here,” as she spoke Mrs. Cox dropped the toy in question on the small table.

It was a toy soldier, so Diane gave a frown. “What’s wrong with that?”

“A girl had it!”

“And?”

“It’s a boys toy, not something girls should be playing with.”

“Now I see the problem. No, you shouldn’t report that.” Diane went back to her sandwiches.

Written for Sunday photo fiction

8 thoughts on “SPF: Not for girls

  1. Very interesting take on the prompt, well done! It’s a good thing no one else shares Mrs Cox’s sexist views. Also, I really liked how you described the beginning of the scene, those first two paragraphs were excellent. They hooked me good. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

