Friday fictioneers: Exit


This comes on the day when I feel like I ought to apologise for the British. So, seeing a picture of a plane for the prompt I wrote this story.

I am not an immigrant, but I imagine many feel unwelcome today.

copyright-Rich Voza

copyright-Rich Voza

I couldn’t quite believe it. As a child, I had got off the plane full of wonder and excitement at the brand-new country that I was going to live in. There was a deep love for a country that took me in so openly.

Yet, here I was, on the brink of leaving forever. The very notion of suddenly feeling unwelcome was something I never imagined. Until I woke up this morning.

As soon as I saw the news it felt like my days were numbered. The sun was setting as we took off. Time to make my own Brexit.

Written for Friday fictioneers

 

9 thoughts on “Friday fictioneers: Exit

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

