Story a day: day fifteen


Here we are on day fifteen of the story a day challenge. Today’s task is simply this:

This is the first of your Rescue Week prompts!

Prompts

Rewrite your First Person story from Week One

My story was the first part of my work in progress, so I am now going to tell it from the point of view of my antagonist, Warren. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

Beginnings

When I first entered the mind of the Dream Guardian that I now could claim ownership of I was somewhere beyond impressed. I had never dreamed of the moment when I would capture the enemy and get to torture them in the same way that they torture us. Well, admittedly it would be more than that because I would be able to add physical torture to the emotional scarring that they tended to cause. They were actually nothing but trouble and I could not believe that things had got to the point where I needed their help in order to be able to finish waking the powers of my young prodigy.

I took the unusual step of calling the dreamer before I built the dream. I had built the scene enough times since becoming a Walker that I was confident it would not fall apart when the dreamer began to question it. I knew that he would, of course, because this was going to be a whole new experience for him. If he had not been my enemy then I probably would have felt sorry for him. Well, probably not.

The urge to giggle was one that I had to fight as the scene began to take shape in the darkness. My body began to settle into the comfort of the blue armchair that was building around my form. I clicked my fingers to turn on the lights in the room which was my first chance to see the Guardian that have been caught in my snare.

He was not what I was expecting to see. I am not really sure what I was expecting, to be honest, because my dealings with Guardians had been very brief in the past. They very rarely gave you the chance to look at them. This one was a very young American Indian by the looks of him with long dark hair and olive skin. His piercing eyes were bright blue as he curiously looked at the scene around him.

“Who are you?” His voice rang out when he noticed me sitting in front of him.

I could not help but raise an eyebrow. “I would have thought the better question would be where are you. But, since you do not seem bothered by what your location is, I will answer that question you asked. My name is Warren Forbes, but I very much doubt that you have heard of me.”

The confusion on his face was so apparent that it saw the return of my suppressed giggle. This was deeply compounded by the fact that he then began flapping his wings to try and escape back into the spirit world. At the sound of my laugh, he began flapping them even more and I realised that I was going to have to explain to him the futility of his actions. Were they really that stupid that they couldn’t work out that something did not work?

“In case you haven’t worked it out by now, those wings of yours are useless. I am enjoying the experience of being able to talk to a Dream Guardian who is powerless against me.”

“I don’t understand…”

I rolled my eyes. “My dear boy, this is your dream that is why you are unable to break free.” I was watching him closely to see the moment that the words sank in and he realised what I meant. This Guardian was about to learn what it was like to live in the physical world all over again.

“That’s impossible.”

“And yet here you are.” As panic settled itself around his facial expression I couldn’t help but smile. Here he was, indeed. This kid was going to have to get used to my company.

12 thoughts on “Story a day: day fifteen

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

