FFftPP: Beginnings


plane

I had waited years for this day and I still could not believe it was actually going to happen. In just a few hours I was going to be one of the team on display at the airshow.

As I arrived on the field those few hours seemed to be an eternity. I had completed all of the training and this was going to be my first solo flight as a pilot.

The health and safety guy came over to me and started to go through the dos and don’ts of flying an aeroplane. Honestly, what did he actually know about these things? So, I basically ignored everything he said to me.

The time came to take to the sky and I have never been more proud to be wearing the uniform. I climbed into the seat and taxied gently to the runway. Before reaching the end I realised it was not going to take off. There was nothing that I could do except to head back into the room where we had been waiting.

It seems my debut was going to have to wait. I could’ve cried and, honestly, I probably did. I have never felt that much disappointment.

Written for flash fiction for the purposeful practitioner

11 thoughts on “FFftPP: Beginnings

  1. Aw poor him! Maybe he should’ve listened to the health and safety guy.. I have a feeling what he was telling him was quite relevant.. Or perhaps it’s his punishment for not listening… Great story!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. He learned a hard lesson that day and will probably never forget it. He feels disappointment which is understandable, but he should also feel relieved to know he did not cause an accident due to his lack of paying attention to some very important instructions. Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

