FFftPP: Hindsight


ocean

“Stop saying ‘It’s just the circle of life’…”

I looked over at Katherine and frowned. “Well, since you are the expert, what would you like me to call it? I mean, we are born, we grow up, we learn what we are doing, we reproduce, we share our wisdom, and then we die. Full circle.”

“That is not really a circle. That is the timeline of life so maybe we should be calling it line. How is what you described a circle?”

I pushed my fingers into the bridge of my nose. “We come from nothing and we return to nothing. Think about it, we come into the world the same way we leave it. Helpless.”

“You could look at it that way, Lorne, but as far as I can see, we are leaving this world completely differently. Anyway, how else would you describe us?”

“A time traveller is a learner. We don’t interfere or change something we know is wrong.”

As soon as I spoke a wave crashed into shore and I found myself wishing I could go back in time and tell my other self to follow their heart and leave her behind.

Hindsight is a terrible thing.

Written for flash fiction for the purposeful practitioner

These characters have appeared before, so if you missed them the first time you can find it here.

13 thoughts on “FFftPP: Hindsight

  1. Makes me think of what they say at funerals, ashes to ashes, dust to dust. From dust we came, to dust we will return. Totally left out that sentence this week, keep forgetting about it. Kind of glad I did 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great story Angie – these two really have a sparky relationship and you don’t need a difficult travelling companion if you’re jetting around in space and time. I can’t wait to see if they crop up again in their FFftPP travels.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

