Sunday photo fiction: Snow day


It was a usual morning, and, just like any other, I was late for work. I had not even had time to open my curtains when I was struggling into my work clothes.

I grabbed my car keys and threw open the front door of my house ready to dart outside, and rush to the waiting car. The minute that I went to set foot outside was also the moment that everything came crashing to a halt. I just stood there, that bit of toast hanging out of my mouth, and stared at the sight of the empty parking lot.

There was a lot of snow surrounding my car, and I just know that there was no way I was going to get to work today. Well, not in my buried vehicle.

Now, all of the warnings of my neighbours started to make sense. They had warned me not to park in the parking lot, but to leave it next to main roads. The main roads were gritted, and people who park there would now be driving away happily.

Back inside I debated ringing a taxi, or staying at home to watch daytime TV. In the end, daytime TV won.

139-01-january-17th-2016

Written for Sunday photo fiction

43 thoughts on “Sunday photo fiction: Snow day

  1. Good call with the story. We’re allowed to work from home, if we can’t get in due to the weather. They can check to see if you’re logged on though! I’d take Netflix over Daytime TV any day! πŸ™‚

    Like

    1. We were never allowed to work from home due to confidentiality issues, so it was always a phone call to the office to explain that you could not get in and why… I am not sure if they always believed you, but, whatever! I would probably take Netflix or something similar, daytime TV is seriously depressing! Thanks for reading πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Excellent story. Mine was somewhat similar. Margaret leaves her work at the end of the day to find her car stuck in the snow. In her case, she can’t get home from work

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Staying home and watching TV because of an error in judgement, and not wanting to get her car out of the snow was a great way to spend the day! πŸ™‚ Hopefully, she came up with a good excuse for her employer, or could use a one of her “sick days” ..if she had any. Great story…sounds like Real Life. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The person who owned this car should have parked on the road, but he ignored the warnings as well lol. These days were the worst snow days we had in a long time, and so many of us wet for the same option as your main character. Even some of those who parked on the main road. The kids all had the day off school and had snow ball fights. Your description was spot on πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

