Interrupted reading


This is my entry into this week’s flash fiction for aspiring writers challenge. I hope you enjoy it 🙂

This is the image that we were given:

fffaw-12-8-2015

This is my story:

– –

He sat down in a picturesque street and looked about him in a kind of daze.

A girl sitting at a table next to him set down her book and looked over her glasses. “Sir, are you okay?”

“I am a bit… Confused.”

“Do you need some help?”

“I do not think that there is anything that can be done about the situation. Wait, is that today’s newspaper?”

Her eyes moved over the cobbled street onto a table in front of the next shop. She recognised the headline, and nodded. “I believe so, why?”

He ran over and snatched at the paper, reading the front of it at length. “That means that my experiment worked. Now I have to work out how to get back so that I can tell my colleagues.”

“What worked?”

The man looked at her like he had forgotten she was there. “Time travel, of course.”

16 thoughts on “Interrupted reading

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

