This is my entry into this week’s Sunday photo fiction challenge. In this challenge you are given a photo and asked to write a short story inspired by the image. The writing should be no longer than 200 words, and so I have chosen to write exactly 200 words about the picture.

This is the image so we were given this week,

126-10-october-18th-2015

and below is my story:

– –

There was something new in this house; something I did not like. I was going to have to search high and low and till I found whatever it was that was bothering me. It did not matter if this search took me all day, because nothing was allowed within these walls without my approval.

I began my search in the kitchen, because, why ever not? Well, after spending a good hour distracted by food I began to realise why this wasn’t the best plan. Anyway, it was not in there.

I moved on around the house, looking in every single room to see what had changed. Nothing downstairs appeared to be obvious so I ventured upstairs.

When I walked into the study, I found it sitting there and staring at me in that proud fashion that these creatures seemed to wear without even trying. I looked about this completely still thing in total disgust. Who on earth thought that it would be a great idea to put that thing in here?

So it was that Tiddles, the tortoiseshell cat, knocked over and smashed the statue of the dog placed in the room. Man’s best friend? She would beg to differ.

17 thoughts on “Something new

  1. So funny! At first I thought it was the dog from the picture that was exploring the house trying to figure out what was wrong, so it was a fun twist that it turned out to be the cat stalking a statue of a dog And that sounds just like some cats I’ve known!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That would have been a great story as well. I am a cat person, and so not surprisingly this is the first thing that popped into my mind when I saw the picture. Anyway, thank you for reading 🙂

      Like

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

