This is my response to this week’s FFfAW challenge. In this challenge you are given a picture and asked to write a small piece of fiction with a maximum of 150 words. This week’s photo was provided by Etol.

wpid-photo-20151005074310397 I have written a piece of exactly 150 words. (By fluke, not a deliberate action!)

– –

“Oh, it has to be live.”

Duncan just laughed at her. “You would say that as the classical actress you are. I just don’t see the point in going to see a performance that you are going to watch on television where you can see every angle and probably enjoy it more.”

Sarah folded her arms. “I have seen the joy that people get when they are watching a performance. It does not even matter if I am the one that is performing. Honestly, Duncan, there is joy out there to be had. I am a firm believer that you need to see something live in order to appreciate it. Watching it on television is not the same.”

He shook his head. “We are not going to buy that ticket.”

“Fair enough. We might not be buying those tickets, but, trust me, I am going to buy one for myself.”

33 thoughts on “It’s all in the performance

  1. Ooh, “We” might not, but “I” am. I like that resolve! And I agree: experiencing something live and being surrounded by so many people who came to that place for the same purpose isn’t the same as watching whatever it is on TV (it’s all about being consumed by the feeling of actually being there). Then again, I also understand where he’s coming from, because you might not be able to hear and see the “concert” as well as you would from your couch. Great job with this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I prefer to watch everything live, and then maybe just have a different experience with it on television or whatever. Yes, you probably get to see more on the screen, but you don’t really get the experience or have the ability to say, “I was there”. Glad you enjoyed it, thanks for reading.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. For a lot of things I’d have to agree with Sarah. There is nothing like seeing a show life especially rock concerts, hockey games, musicals, and operas. But you do get a different view back home on TV as the camera’s hone in on everything. Great story.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree with Sarah on this point! While watching a televised performance is interesting it just doesn’t have the same atmosphere as a live one. I hope she keeps her resolve! A great story, Angie. 🙂

    Like

  4. Great story! There is a certain magic to seeing things live, although film/television also has its advantages (being able to see things from different angles is good and it’s nice to see close-ups on faces rather than looking at people from far away).

    Liked by 1 person

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

