Here we go again in America. This time it is in Oregon and the community college where people were studying for the future. It is going to be a future that is never going to happen for some individuals, and many lives will have being completely transformed by the actions of one individual who decided that he was going to go and kill people. We do not yet know the reasons behind why he did this, but that the end of the day, do his actions really need a justification? I mean, the end result is exactly the same. People died, people were injured, lives have been devastated, and the gunman was again cowardly enough to let himself die rather than face the consequences of his actions.

It is not that long ago that I last mentioned on my blog that the gun-control laws in America needed to be looked at. It is always the same in that people will argue that there is a right to bear arms. I am not saying that people should not be able to defend themselves if the need arises, but why is it so easy for every American to get their hands on a gun? Surely there should be some way to restrict this. I am sure that many people who do own a gun over the pond would be more than willing to go through a process that will prove that they are able to own that gun responsibly.

Surely that is just common sense? This stupid idea that guns would make everybody safer and that maybe there should be more guns, is absolutely absurd. I can remember an argument after something similar to this that said ‘the only person that can kill a bad guy with a gun, is a good guy with a gun.’ Seriously? Just think about that for a moment. The perspective of the person behind the gun is a purely individual one. I mean, the person carrying out the mass killings is under the belief that they are doing the right thing. Let’s look at Charleston. Wrong though that guy was, he was under the belief that anybody black was in fact the bad guy, and he was the good guy that was going to take care of the issue. This would apply to absolutely anyone who is carrying out this crime. No way would it be safe to argue that there should be more guns and fewer control laws.

I am not saying that America needs to go to the same extremes as over in the UK, mainly because I know that it is a part of your constitution to bear arms. I am sure that there will be a compromise where there has to be some kind of test before you can be allowed to take a gun home. Once it is home, there should be certain restrictions on the way that it is kept that mean people would not be able to easily get their hands on somebody else’s weapon. I don’t think that this would make it any less of a protective piece of equipment for people who feel the need to keep them at home. Would those law-abiding gun owners really kick up that much of a fuss if they were faced with this kind of restriction? I very much doubt it, because the only people who would not want that kind of protection would be the ones who would be wanting to carry out an atrocity such as the one that has just happened.

I am well aware that this will probably lose me friends across the pond, but really, I am not that bothered about all of that. In fact, I would go as far as to say that I would be a lot happier if I were not friends with somebody who has the mental capacity to go out and commit a crime where innocent people would die.

I was absolutely amazed to notice that President Obama seemed to share my views. I don’t actually care what you think about him in general. In fact, I don’t really know the difference between Republicans, Democrats, or even Independent. I am not ashamed to admit that I do not even know which party President Obama actually represents! I am not American and his daily decisions do not actually affect the way that I live my life. (For me, it is David Cameron who does that so I only really take note of him, or his opposition) Any way, that is beside the point. When I first saw this address I was very surprised with the fact that what he said is pretty much what I have been saying in my whole blog post.

So, no matter what you think of him, listen to the things that he has to say and draw your conclusions from that. Feel free to share any comments you may have.

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

