This is my attempt at the story a day prompt. I have found this quite difficult to do because I absolutely love the hitchhiker’s guide, so it was very difficult for me to imagine anything except that. Anyway, this is what I came up with 🙂

The Prompt

A person wakes up, not quite remembering what happened the night before, and is surprised and upset by what they see outside the window.
(The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams)

I woke up with a splitting headache and had no idea what had happened the night before. Due to my headache, though, I assumed that I had a very good experience involving alcohol. I was pretty convinced that there was going to be several flashbacks that day that would indicate that my memory was going to return. As a result, I was not particularly bothered about the whole not remembering thing.

On this occasion, like so many previous times, I instinctively checked to see whether or not I was dressed. Today I was, and a brief glance around the room showed me that I was also alone. The light was filtering in through the thin curtains and seemed to be pressuring me to rouse myself from the cosy bedding that I was currently wrapped up in. I wish that I could live there all day but I knew that I had some things that needed to be got done.

So, I heaved a sigh, and kicked back the blankets which exposed my skin to the chill in the September air. My fumbling fingers found my dressing gown which I clutched to myself in order to block out the sudden cold.

It was after going to the bathroom that I crossed to the window. I simply could not put off the idea of letting in the daylight any longer. When I did so I nearly dropped the material as I staggered backwards in surprise.

Where was I?

I looked around me again just to confirm that this was my own house. It was definitely true, but the view outside was completely unfamiliar to me. This is the moment that I realised I had to work out what exactly had happened the night before.

First thing first. I needed to have a cup of coffee so that I could sit down and think.

Word count: 311

2 thoughts on “Story a day: the morning after

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

