Good news


SAN RAFAEL, CA - FEBRUARY 26: B.B. King performs at Marin Center on February 26, 2014 in San Rafael, California. (Photo by Steve Jennings/WireImage)
SAN RAFAEL, CA – FEBRUARY 26: B.B. King performs at Marin Center on February 26, 2014 in San Rafael, California. (Photo by Steve Jennings/WireImage)
Despair, death, and destruction.

I turned off the TV, because I was sick to the back teeth of listening to what we called news. I needed some good news, but that seemed to be in very short supply at the moment. There had to be something better, somewhere, because otherwise people were going to drown in all of this. The trick was knowing where to look, I suppose, and all I needed was to see the light at the end of the tunnel.

Maybe it was going to be in those cat videos that often circulated around the Internet. Either that, or any kind of animal. They all seem to have those better lives because they had none of this to worry about. They did not see the effects of recession, they did not see pictures of war, they did not know about the effects of a natural disaster at the other side of the world. No. Their main worry would be that the food was going to be provided for them, or maybe if they were going to be let out in time for them to do their business.

I often wished that I was a pet of some description.

I turned my head on the sofa to watch my own cat stretch out a paw lazily. He was definitely one of the lucky ones, and I turned my body so that I was able to scratch behind his ear. This granted me an appreciative purr.

Lucky.

As I walked towards the kitchen, I flicked on the stereo and began to listen to some music. In order to escape the blues that the news always brought on, I found that music often gave me the escape to a better world that I was looking for. Although many musicians’ lives were tinged by tragedy, none of this ever seem to show through in their words.

A song from the late and great B. B. King came on my player, and I paused for a moment in reflection. However, it is worth remembering that a musician like him can never die, because their music will long be a part of everyone’s lives.

Somewhere he is watching everybody enjoying his lifetime’s work, and I am sure that he is smiling. I would hope that he has found that better world that he often sang about.

The news was forgotten as sitting and swirled around within my brain. I had found escape, and felt free to get on with everything that I needed to do.

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

