This is a trilogy, but it certainly does not leave on a massive cliffhanger. Don’t get me wrong, you still need to know what happens next, and maybe that is just me and the way that my mind works, but whatever it is, I will be buying the next two books at some point 🙂

This is the first book that I have read by this author, but I found it absolutely spellbinding and captivating.

At first you find yourself trying to get used to the terminology of the whole different world. You have different soldiers, Voss, Phage, Bloodspeaker, Veilwarden, Dream Witch, Blood Queen, and the one goddess, without actually going into all the weapons used. I also will not mention the variety of characters that are named within the book, but I am doing this simply because of the spelling. (Dragon Dictation will not even guess at these, especially when it struggle with basic English!) You would think that this, and the head hopping between the characters would make this a difficult read. This is definitely not the case, as I found that each individual character had their own unique voice, and I was happy to learn more about them when you were inside their head.

Just like you would expect from book 1 of a trilogy, there is a lot of background to be learnt. However, this is mixed in with all the action, and as a result it is not difficult to pick up. There is a lot of action, and a lot of slaughter, but it all makes for a very interesting read. You still do not know when the book ends the full story of what happened to one of the characters that you have been following throughout (Dane). You do know that whatever it is haunts him and will probably surface later in the series.

As I said, you want to find out what is going to happen to finish off the story.

I would highly recommend this to anybody who loves fantasy, because it is beautiful on an epic scale. I rated this at five out of five, and am definitely looking forward to reading the rest of the series.

Leave your opinions and thoughts :-)

